What is a Doppleganger.

We are told from a young age that we are all individuals. That no-one is quite like us, we are special. But what if that’s not true. There is plenty of modern day evidence that would suggest we all in fact have at least 1 likeness out there somewhere in the big wide cosmos.

Well ok that is just one saying, but we do all know that we as the human race have had several of  said encounters with what seamed to be there own likeness? hence comes the name Dopplegangers.

The word Doppelgänger is German and translates as “double goer” The word doppelgänger is often used in a more general sense to describe any person who physically or behaviorally resembles another person.

Mythology

th

The application by English-speakers of this German word to the paranormal concept is relatively recent; Francis Grose‘s Provincial Glossary of 1787 included the term fetch instead, defined as the “apparition of a person living.” A best-selling book on paranormal phenomena, Catherine Crowe‘s The Night-Side of Nature (1848), helped make the German word well-known. However the concept itself, of alter egos and double spirits, has appeared in the folklore, myths, religious concepts, and traditions of many cultures throughout human history.[3]

The word Doppelgänger is German and translate as “double goer”. In Irish folklore there are references to the ‘Fetch’ or apparition that is a replica of a living person, in every way, and yet casts no shadow. In centuries past the people from the Orkney Islands feared fairies and called them “Trows”. They were depicted as ugly, impish little creatures whose children were always sickly. Pregnant women were carefully guarded from the Trows who were believed to steal healthy human babies and replace them with exact replicas of the children. The belief was that these replicas would then fall sick and die young.

In a supernatural sense “double-goers” have always been considered as omens of bad luck or even signs of impending death – a doppelgänger seen by a person’s relative or friend was said to signify that illness or danger would befall that person, while seeing one’s own doppelgänger was said to be an omen of sudden death. If seen, the ‘likeness’ is said to wreak havoc in the mind of the person they are shadowing, planting malicious or harmful thoughts and causing great confusion for all around. This is why in most cultures, beginning communication with ones own doppelganger is strongly

feared.

th

Doppelgangers, or references to the existence of ‘another self’ have featured in works of fiction for centuries. In Greek mythology Narcissus falls in love with his own reflection, and in Edgar Allan Poes ‘William Wilson’ William, meets a boy at his boarding school who is his exact double, and who copies his every mannerism. The twin pursues William throughout his life, as he dabbles in darker and darker vices. Maddened by his presence, William stabs him at a masked ball, only to find that his own body begins bleeding.

While these tales may seem farfetched and unlikely, there are real cases in which people claim to have met their more sinister double, not least Abraham Lincoln who famously saw 2 reflections one day when he looked in the mirror. He claime

While many people today still believe in the existence of a double self, some scientists believe the phenomenon occurs purely in the brain and is based on injuries or stimulation to certain parts of the brain, which cause errors in spatial reasoning. Others believe it is the result of a vision or hallucination. This may go some way to explaining how people can look in a mirror and believe they are seeing a 2nd image of themselves, but how would those scientists explain the 2 ladies living hundreds of miles apart, unaware of each other, and yet seemingly so in tune with each other and so alike physically?

There are certainly a lot of supernatural or paranormal based legends about dopplegangers, some told are as if they were omens.  Legends told had it, if you met your own Doppleganger you may not live to tell about it, othewrs have said they saw there Doppleganger and they brought words of wisdon and inner said peace?

What ever the case if I see a Doppleganger or A,K.A myself I will  run the other way then.

One such reported story>http://www.yourghoststories.com/real-ghost-story.php?story=12613

This happened a couple of weeks ago while I was at work. I am in the Navy so my work happens to be on a ship with a crew of about 250 people. And the ship is only 509 feet long, so fairly small compared to most navy ships people think about.

A couple Of weeks ago I was heading down a ladder to the main deck on the aft end of the ship. On my way down the ladder with our First Lt I had ran into let’s say her name is “Sarah”. She was heading to the quarterdeck, which happened to be on the flight deck even further aft, with a bag of trash. As I got to the bottom of the ladder she had bumped her bag of trash into my leg I felt it distinctly as it brushed into me. And she continued walking towards the flight deck to take out the trash. I had continued on my way walking forward on the main deck when not only but 1 minute later I saw her again, empty handed, with no trash. I hadn’t even traveled 40 feet from were I had last seen her. Now when I say the ship is small, it is not any where near small enough to make it out to the pier back on and be heading aft again with no trash. She wouldn’t have even been able to drop the bag off head to the T shaped P-way about the half way point of the ship and to me. Not even in a full sprint.

This all put me in a state of confusion for what I just saw. So I asked “Sarah” if I had just seen back by the ladder and she replied no. In which I had replied I could of sworn I just saw you with a bag a trash. And she replied that I hadn’t. So I blew her off with a not quite convince okay. And continued on. My First LT who was behind me the whole time said she was just messing with me about it and he saw her as well.

So later on in the day I had to just ask again to make sure she was being serious and she kept the same answer. Sarah isn’t the type of person to mess with people for no reason like that. I know her face when I see it. It is a small crew I know everybody on board when it come to faces and names.

Disclaimer: The following information has been provided to us and the article is based on the said information, we obtained. All allegations made are alleged, and the Paranormal Herald  and or Beyond The Edge Of Reality can not be held accountable for other parties information.

Evan Jensen

Leave a Reply

